Breakfast / Snacks

“Perfect” (for a budget) Bars

(pics to come)

As much as I love trekking to four different grocery stores a week to get ALL of my favorite, specialized health foods without breaking the bank, it gets tiring constantly having to go to one store for bars, one store for produce, and yet another for certain supplements that I want. Don’t get me wrong, wandering grocery store isles is totally one of my favorite pass-times but with my busy schedule as a full time athlete and a student some would argue its not even possible to cook as much as I do!

It comes down to this, yes, I totally could eat the same healthy but monotonous meals every week but I like finding new products that give me options for enjoying foods I love but in a healthy way. Some of my favorites are:

Siete Foods

Eat Banza

Barely Bread

These are only a few of the creative products that allow me to eat tacos, pasta and bread in a way that does not effect my body in a negative way because they use real ingredients. This brings me to my next concern of protein bars. I feel that the health worlds idea of protein bars is so saturated these days. Everyone views any bar with that label as healthy when in reality so many of these bars are filled with sugars, chemicals and fillers. So of course I make my way to specific stores to find clean bars as well.

Perfect Bar is one of the only bar brands that I will buy (Perfect because they are based in San Diego!)

Others include:

Bulletproof Bars

Primal Kitchen Bars

Rx Bars

When searching out bars I have simple rules. Look for a short list of ingredients and recognize all of them. Simple!

The only problem is that when you get quality, you also have to deal with inconvenience and price. Often times these bars cannot be bought at all grocery stores and most of the time they are pricier than the ones with the endless list of ingredients half of which end in “ose” (always a reference to sugar of some kind)

So here is my solution for times when you’re just too tired to drive to Whole Foods or Sprouts or Erewhon.. whatever your favorites specialty store may be your favorite.

Perfect (for your budget) Bars:

1 cup Cashews

1/2 cup Almonds

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes + a few more to top them

2 Tbsp. Coconut oil

2 Tbsp Cacao Nibs

1 Tsp. Wedderspoon official Manuka honey

1 Tsp Vanilla

Sprinkle of Cinnamon

Sprinkle of Himalayan Pink Sea Salt (optional)

1 handful of Enjoy Life Foods chocolate (optional and can sub for an 72% cacao chocolate)

  1. throw all the ingredients in your food processor except the chocolate
  2. Pulse until the mixture is broken down and starts to for a big ball in the machine (mixture should hold together when you pinch it between two fingers
  3. Remove the mixture and place on a piece of parchment paper lying on a flat surface
  4. Flatten with hands or roll mixture into a square/rectangle shape until even and about one inch thick
  5. Sprinkle with coconut shreds, chocolate, and a little bit more sea salt
  6. Use another piece of parchment paper to press the toppings into the bar
  7. Refrigerate for one hour
  8. Cut into rectangles (I got 8 bars from this mixture)
  9. Wrap individually or store in tupperware in refrigerator

These seriously turned out so much better than I expected. I really couldn’t stop eating them as I was cutting them and they really got the nut-buttery texture of a perfect bar. Definitely looking forward to making more flavors soon because there are endless options now! Going to sit and enjoy one now instead of driving to 4 different grocery stores to find the bars I like.

Leave a Reply

