Uncategorized

Home-made Pasta and Lentil Meatless Meatballs

Normally I tend to stay away from pasta. Not because I am afraid of eating grains or carbs or anything like that but because I feel like it is very hard to find clean brands of pasta and if you do they are often very high calorie especially because we are used to oversized portions of pasta. Most of the time I stick to Zoodles or spaghetti squash. When I saw the Whole Food Diary did a recipe of Spelt Flour I knew that this was a great opportunity to re-incorporate grain pasta into my diet because I whole-heartedly trust her recipes and her ingredients. She uses Spelt Flour which is a healthy whole grain based flour similar to Wheat. I half-ed this recipe to serve two!

Homemade Whole Spelt Pasta

pasta sitting

cutting the pasta

pasta waiting to boil

I decided to make this recipe on the fly because I wanted to make something unique. I love a good meatball with my pasta but did not have any meat in the house so I decided to create a sub to bulk up the pasta and add a little protein.

For the Lentil Meatless-Meatballs:

Ingredients:

15 Simple mills crackers (I used tomato basil flavor) or 1/4 almond flour

2 Tbsp flax meal

1 large zucchini

1 Cup Lentils

1 tbsp olive oil + bone broth (optional)

spice mix (sea salt, pepper, paprika, oregano, parsley, basil, and nutritional yeast)

4 Tbsp liquid aminos

  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. Boil lentils and let cool
  3. In food processor, process simple mills crackers or 1/4 almond meal  with the flax seed
  4. Pulse the lentils with the crackers until broken down but NOT pureed
  5. Shred 1 large zucchini and squeeze out extra water between two paper towels, then mix in large bowl with lentil/cracker mix zuchinni for meatbalss
  6. Chop 5 shiitake mushrooms, 5 or 6 cloves of garlic, and 1 shallot (or 1/4 white onion) and saute in a pan in olive oil (I also added some bone broth in with the oil for a meaty flavor)
  7. Combine mix above with lentil/zucchini mixture
  8. Mix in liquid aminos, sea salt, pepper, paprika, oregano, parsley, basil, and nutritional yeast  ** be generous with spices to create more of a meat flavor
  9. Roll into Tbsp size balls and place on parchment paper baking sheet
  10. Bake for 30 min and flip half way

Normally I make my own marinara sauce because many are high in sugar but because I had an open jar of Victoria’s Organic (available at Costco) which only has 3 grams of sugar I poured that in a saute pan and added some carrots, onion, spices and fresh basil.

I have always seen making your own pasta as a daunting task but once going through the process, without even having a pasta maker, I am a total advocate for homemade pasta. It is not only a very simple process but also this pasta was the best I have had in so long, so fresh and light! It was total comfort food and while I love veggie noodles, it satisfied my pasta craving so much more. The combo of this pasta and the lighter meatless meatballs made for a great summer meal. I look forward to trying this past with other things and making these meatballs again as a clean and healthy source of protein and greens!

I hope you attempt and enjoy as much as I did!

 

Leave a Reply

