Dinner

Simple Salmon and Caesar

Generally, I try to stick to lean protein when it comes to meat. Wild Alaskan salmon is definitely a staple in my diet. Making sure it is wild-caught is priority because a lot of the farm raised salmon these days is are full of chemicals as well as being dyed to get a certain pink color but the wild is fairly easy to find (Trader Joes almost always has it). Along with this I try to get in some sort of green with most meals and for this Kale Salad i did a rendition of one of my favorite restaurants, True Foods, Kale Salad. Along with these I did a chickpea crouton and some crunchy flax seed crumble and topped it with some avocado and toasted almonds. Simple Enough!

Ingredients (for one but you can always double!)

1 – 1 1/2 cups kale

app. 1/4 pound wild caught alaskan salmon ( I split one package of trader Joe’s into 4 servings)

chickpea flatbread (optional)

ground flax seed (optional)

extra virgin olive oil

lemon

grapefruit

hemp seeds (can sub for pepitas or sunflower seeds)

avocado

almonds (optional)

nutritional yeast

For the Kale Salad:

  1. Rinse the kale and chop into small pieces
  2. add about a half tablespoon of olive oil as well as juice of half a lemon
  3. massage olive oil and lemon into the kale (helps to soften)
  4. slice grapefruit and take out the pieces of half, add to salad along with amount of juice you want
  5. continue to mix and add salt and pepper to taste as well at nutritional yeast which gives a slight cheesy/nutty flavor
  6. mix about a tsp of hemp seeds in and set aside

For the Salmon:

  1. preheat oven to 375
  2. heat skillet with coconut oil
  3. once heated, put salmon not skin side down and allow to sear for about a min.
  4. Then put skin side down on baking sheet for about 12 min or until you don’t see anymore of the bright red color

The two above are what is needed for this recipe, the croutons and crumble are just suggestions that I enjoy with my salad!

For the Croutons:

I had already made a Rosemary and Garlic Chickpea Flatbread from the Whole Food Diary earlier this week. I cut the remaining pieces into small croutons, covered them in olive oil and sea salt and put them in the oven as soon as I began to preheat it. I took them out when they got golden brown and slightly crunch. I chopped the almonds and did the same. Time is really personal preference.

You can always buy whole wheat croutons at Sprout’s or Trader Joes. I have been very interested in making basics for the kitchen such as breads, milks, etc. so this was on hand for me to try.

Flax Seed Crumble:

I used the leftover flax seed meal I had from making flax milk and baked it with salt, pepper, paprika, and cumin to make a bread crumb of sorts (post about making nut/seed milks and meals to come) Again, there are many variations of bread crumbs these days. Sprout’s has a great, gluten free one that I have used many times as well.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Simple Salmon and Caesar

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Flatbread | King's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

