Dinner

Zucchini Shakshuka

I was inspired to attempt Shakshuka because I love the idea of eggs at any time of the day, and I do mean any time. They are one of the most versatile foods and I personally could not live without them. It seems as though there are constant variations on Shakshuka and now that I have a cast iron skillet (a recent addition to my kitchen) I was excited to my own. This is a very simplistic version and easy to do at really any time (I had it for lunch) but I look forward to trying variations in the future!

Ingredients:

Zucchini noodles

1/2 cup red cabbage

2 eggs

tomato sauce (I used Victoria’s Organic which is sold at Costco but Trader Joe’s also has good one- 3 grams sugar or less or make your own!)

Tsp. harissa (optional for spice)

olive oil

Directions:

  1. preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Spiralize 1 zucchini (if you don’t own a spiralizer you can use a vegetable peeler to get thin pasta like noodles)
  3. Coat cast iron skillet with olive oil, add zoodles and cabbage and saute for about 5 min.
  4. Add in about 3/4 cup tomato sauce and a teaspoon harissa and continue to cook until vegetables soften
  5. use spoon/spatula to form holes in the veggies for the eggs to sit
  6. crack an egg in each hole and then move skillet from stove top to heated oven
  7. Allow to cook for 10-15 min or until eggs turn white and only move slightly when you move the skillet (more of a personal preference for how runny you like your eggs)
  8. Remove from oven and let cool.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

